Welcome to Note Perfect

Resources for Choral Singers and Soloists

Stabat Mater

Stabat Mater

Pergolesi composed his Stabat Mater (1736) for soprano, alto, string orchestra and basso continuo. It is deemed his best known sacred work. It was commissioned by the Confraternità dei Cavalieri di San Luigi di Palazzo who presented an annual Good Friday meditation in honour of the Virgin Mary. Pergolesi's work replaced one composed by Alessandro Scarlatti which despite being provided only nine years earlier, it was already being perceived as "old-fashioned," so rapidly had public tastes changed.

Note Perfect supplies the complete work for Soprano and Alto in the one package

The recording comprises.

  • The voice parts highlighted on wind instruments with the accompaniment (Complete Work)
  • All Duets with assistance for the soprano voice (no alto)
  • All Duets with assistance for the alto voice (no soprano)
  • Accompaniment (No assistance for any voice) (Complete Work) NB. There are several instances where the orchestra plays the same as the vocalists.

Please scroll down to listen to samples from this recording


Reset your choice

Please Select


( $12.99 )


Click the PLAY symbol to listen to samples selected from Pergolesi Stabat Mater Rehearsal Aids.
To save MP3 audio examples to your computer, right-click then "Save Target As"
DUET Fac ut ardeat cor meum - with assistance for soprano and alto
DUET Fac ut ardeat cor meum - with assistance for soprano only
DUET Fac ut ardeat cor meum - with assistance for alto only
DUET Fac ut ardeat cor meum - accompaniment - no assistance for voices


  1. Duet: Stabat mater dolorosa
  2. Soprano: Cuius animam gementem
  3. Duet: O quam tristis et afflicta
  4. Alto: Quae moerebat et dolebat
  5. Duet: Quis est homo qui non fleret
  6. Soprano: Vidit suum dulcem natum
  7. Alto: Eia mater, fons amoris
  8. Duet: Fac, ut ardeat cor meum
  9. Duet: Sancta mater, istud agas
  10. Alto: Fac, ut portem Christi mortem
  11. Duet: Inflammatus et accensus
  12. Duet: Quando corpus morietur
Copyright © Note Perfect 2013 - 2016 | All rights reserved.
Web design By: Website Design City